Netherlands

04/10/2013 07:26

These are lyrics to a song that have stuck with me all my life and have meant different things at different time.  Again, I am finding them so poignant and moving. 

Nether Lands

High on this mountain 
The clouds down below 
I'm feeling so strong and alive 
From this rocky perch 
I'll continue to search 
For the wind and the snow and the sky 
Oh I want a lover and I want some friends 
And I want to live in the sun 
And I want to do all the things that I never have done 

Sunny bright mornings and pale moonlit nights 
Keep me from feeling alone 
Now I'm learning to fly and this freedom is like 
Nothing that I've ever known 
Oh I've seen the bottom and I've been on top 
But mostly I've lived in between 
And where do you go when you get to the end of your dream 

Off in the Nether Lands I heard the sound 
Like the beating of heavenly wings 
And deep in my brain I can hear a refrain 
Of my soul as she rises and sings 
Anthems to glory and anthems to love 
And hymns filled with earthly delight 
Like the songs that the darkness composes to worship the light 

Once in a vision I came on some woods 
And stood at a fork in the road 
My choices were clear yet I froze with the fear 
Of not knowing which way to go 
Oh, one road was simple acceptance of life 
The other road offered sweet peace 
When I made my decision 
My vision became my release 
 

source: https://danfogelberg.com/lyricsnether.html