"Almost Home" by Kevin Ryan and Tina Kelly

10/05/2012 10:33

Last Spring I had the great good fortune to go to the Covenant House's annual "Night of Broadway Stars" .  There were a lot of heavy hitters in attendance: Laura Bush, Martin Scorsese, Jon Bon Jovi and a whole host of Broadway stars.   Despite the long list of celebrities in attendance, I was most impressed by the children of Covenant House and the President of Covenant House; Kevin Ryan.  

 

Kevin Ryan now has a book out titled "Almost Home".  The foreward is written by another "rockstar" in my eyes, Cory Booker!  I found out there was going to be a book signing in my area last night so of course I HAD to go.  I was so pleased to find out Mr. Ryan was also going to speak, read from his book and answer questions.  He is a really charismatic man, very engaging.  By the time the evening was over, I had laughed, cried and was moved again beyond words.  

 

I am urging all of you to get his book "Almost Home".  As a mother, to read and hear the stories of these children breaks my heart.  I will never understand how some one, particularly a child's own parent, could abuse or abandon a child.  These kid's stories of triumph despite the most horrific odds is so incredibly inspiring.  To know, that a simple gesture of kindness could make all the difference in thier lives is so compelling. Think about, a small act of love can literally change a life.  Kevin Ryan referred to Covenant House as a movement of Love!  I want to be a part of that movement.  

 

Covenant House combats child trafficking, homelessness, etc all over the world.  I hope all of you will get "Almost Home"  and join Covenant House's movement of Love!  

www.covenanthouse.org/

www.twitter.com/covhouseprez

Buy "Almost Home" here:  www.amazon.com/dp/1118230477

 

Special thanks to Holly for introducing me to Kevin Ryan