"12 Beauty Products I Can't Live Without"

06/12/2013 10:11

The following article was originally published on WetPaintMoms.com: 

 

Wetpaint Moms is excited to welcome Anne Cahalane for her first guest post. Anne, a suburban mom who always has an opinion, is the host of The MomsThoughts Show and a Bloom Ambassador.

 

I tend to be a bit of a cosmetics junkie.  I guess that is why I am also an Ambassador for Bloom.com.  It is so much fun to play with cosmetics and who doesn’t want to look their best?  Knowing you look your best builds confidence. Going out into the world feeling confident can only bring good things your way!

 

1. Sonicare Toothbrush: To me, nothing is more important than a good healthy smile. You can wear all the latest designer clothes you want, but if your teeth look bad, no one is even going to notice those Louboutins. I have been using Sonicare for years and I would never go back to a regular toothbrush again.

 

2. Optic White: Keeping with “your smile is your best accessory” theme, I recently started using Optic White by Colgate. I’ve tried the whitening strips, but they make my sensitive teeth hurt. I’ve been adding hydrogen peroxide to my regular mouthwash and that does help, but now Optic White does all the work for me. After using the toothpaste and mouthwash twice daily,  I noticed my teeth were whiter in just a few days!

 

3. Clarisonic Mia: This little handheld, battery-powered face scrubber has taken face cleaning to a whole new level. I use mine in the shower every morning. The brush is soft enough for delicate or sensitive skin, yet it gets the job done. Pores look smaller, skin is exfoliated, and it helps keeps acne and wrinkles at bay.  (And who doesn’t need that?!)

 

4. Peter Thomas Roth: As far as I am concerned, PTR is the enemy of wrinkles everywhere! I can’t get enough of his products. I use the Resurfacer, Retexturizer, Instant FirmX  For Face and Eyes, and the FirmX Contour Color Stick. The stick is THE best for quick color, contouring, and firming on face, eyes, lips, and more.

 

5. Witch Hazel: My grandmother taught me to use this old school facial essential, and now Dickinson’s has made it super convenient with individual towelettes. Witch hazel cleans, tones, removes oil without drying, eliminates shine, balances ph and its natural.

 

6. Smashbox Photo Finish Primer: This primer readies the skin for foundation, smoothes pores and fine lines, evens out skin tone, nourishes skin, and helps keep your foundation looking fresh.

 

7. Make Up For Ever HD Foundation: This is my “go to” foundation when I am going out for a night on the town. With cell phone cameras in everyone’s hands, its almost inevitable you will end up in a picture or two, and this foundation eliminates that reflective shine created by so many other products.

 

8. Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer: This luminous lightweight pink primer preps and brightens skin. When used under  the Olay CC Cream,  I have a bright dewy moisturized glow that lasts all day!  This is my everyday primer.

 

9. Olay CC Cream Total Effects Tone Correcting Moisturizer with Sunscreen: We’ve all heard of “BB” creams by now, and this is the next generation: “CC” cream!  This cream does it all: It fights the effects of aging, exfoliates, moisturizes, and reduces age spots. Bonus: It has a broad spectrum sunscreen and contains tone correcting color. On those busy mommy mornings, this is all you need!  

 

10. Pantene Age Defy: My favorite in Pantene’s new line of anti-aging hair products is the Age Defy Thickening Serum, which delivers vitamins and caffeine to the hair’s root. I have been rubbing into my scalp for over three weeks and I can honestly say I feel a real difference in my hair. It’s not a sticky product that temporarily changes the texture of your hair; this works by improving the quality of the actual hair.

 

11. BlowPro: These weightless and nourishing products are designed specifically for the best results when blow drying hair. What I can tell you is that they give me soft, manageable hair with tons of volume. I especially love the No Crunch Mousse and the Heat Is On Daily Primer.

 

12. Dirt: Yes, you read that right. Jonathan Products Dirt is a hair texturizing paste. The paste is not greasy and doesn’t weigh down even fine hair like mine. It adds a lot of manageability and smells fantastic. A little goes a long way.

 

*Note: Some products featured in this article were provided to me for the purpose of review.  All opinions are my own.


 Follow Anne on Twitter @MomsThoughts or visit MomsThoughts.com.

https://www.wetpaint.com/author/anne-cahalane