Vertical Video Ban

07/05/2013 08:16

Ban Vertical Video

 

Apparently, this is a "thing".  A real "thing".   And this "thing" is not limited to just video.  A couple of weeks ago I was out in New York City with my daughter.  I took a picture of her with my cell phone and recieved a lecture on the foolishness that was vertical images.  (I admit, at first I didn't even know what the hell she was talking about)  My daughter has been studying film and video for 5 years now.  She majored in video technology in her performing arts high school.  She is currently majoring in Cinema and Film at college (she made Dean's list...had to throw that in just cuz I am a mom, moms like to brag lol)   She regaled me with factoids about how the human eye sees things horizontally along with other chatter about why vertical filming and photography is just WRONG.  Trust me, she was very passionate about it.  I was still trying to figure out what the hell she was talking about and what I did wrong.  

While purusing the internet, reading stories about oddities that inexplicably intrique me, I came across this video.  I know what she was talking about now!  Based on the over 3 million views for this video and my daughters passionate response to my vertical phone photography,  I have to conclude this is real folks.  

 

Did you know about this?  Was I the last to know?