STILA!

06/23/2013 11:39
Best of Stila Makeup Case
STILA!
 
Best of Stila Makeup Case - This collectible black faux-suede train case is piled high with Stila’s best selling and most iconic products for complexion, eyes, cheeks and lips. The set contains $425 of Stila goodness on sale for $100 plus you get a great makeup box with pull out trays and mirror.  Was it worth $100?  Definitely.  Set Contains:
 
 
Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner
Stay All Day® Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner in Intense Black - I don't usually use black liquid eye liner, it's a little harsh for me.  But, Stila make a good product.  I do use the waterproof liquid liner in Snow and LOVE it. (See below)
 
 
 
Passion Fruit Crush Lip & Cheek Stain
Passion Fruit Crush Lip & Cheek Stain - Love this color!   I love a lip stain too! This is always in my bag!  It is super easy to use with the brush end.  I have not tried it on my cheeks yet,  but I will soon!  Anything with lasting color that isn't a powder is appealing to me.  
 
 
 
 
Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner
Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Stingray & Starfish - Stila Sticks are great.  They have lots of good colors and glide on so effortlessly.  I find they are ideal for "tight-lining".  
 
 
 
 
Lip Glaze
Lip Glaze – Grapefruit & Gleam (exclusive shade) - These two exclusive shades are beautiful.  I have about 6 Stila glazes now and I love them all.  I wear alone or over lip color.  I especially love to wear the glaze over the Passion Fruit lip stain.  A little bit does the job and its super shiney.  The glaze has the brush tip which makes application really easy and gives your more precision in application.  It is never to goopy because you can control just how much lands on your lips. 
 
 
 
 
 
Convertible Color
 
Convertible Color in Lillium - I love this product.  I was skeptical, but I love it.  It's so convenient in the little compact with mirror.  It makes quick touch ups of lips and blush a breeze!  I don't like putting my fingers in makeup and then touching my face and lips, that is my one issue with this product.  Since  I always have hand sanitizer and tissue with me anyway, I can deal with this for the great translucent color and creamy texture.   
 
Long Wear Liquid Lip Color
Long Wear Liquid Lip in Muse & Caprice - The Caprice is a slightly shimmery, slightly irredecent fushia color and it is stunning!  It is that wonderful fun pop of color perfect for summer.  I have avoided bright lip colors lately but this one is too good to resist!  And it does last!  It is a cross between a stain and gloss.  It goes on like a gloss with a sponge tipped applicatorbut lasts for hours like a stain.  The color is rich and bright so care must be used when applying!  A little goes a long way.   The Muse is a muted pink.  I like this if I use just a hint and then apply gloss over it.  Too much just looks drab and thick.  A little is enough to give a hint of color that lasts.  
  
In the Know Eye Shadow PaletteIn The Garden Palette
In the Know and In The Garden Eye Shadow Palette - Personally, I think eye shadows are Stila's best product.  They are always so rich is pigment and such a soft texture.  They slide on like a dream.  (In The Garden is included in the kit, In The Know is sold separately.)  The In The Garden palette has an array of colors.  The colors do have a slight shimmer.  Right now, I am enjoying matte colors so I have still been using my Stila In The Know palette more because of the matte neutral colors.   I love both palettes and I am sure you would find something you like in one of these color palettes.   The shadow palettes are in heavy cardboard "book" type packaging.  If you are one who wants to carry eyeshadow with you in your bag, this may be a problem.  They don't lock or snap closed and they aren't in a traditional plastic  box.  I don't carry eyeshadow with me, so this is fine for me! 
 
Stay All Day 10-in-1 HD Beauty Balm
Stay All Day® 10-in-1 HD Beauty Balm - This is perfection.  How did I ever live without this?  It really does it all.  It is a rich thick creamy blend with a slight tint.  Oddly, the tint blends perfectly leaving your skin with a natural matte finish.  You can wear only this for a natural finished, even look or use it as a primer under foundation.  I love a versatile product and this one takes the cake.  It moisturizes, reduces fine lines,  evens skin tone, reduces pore size and it works as a primer.   It is not oily or shiny which I love.    It does seem thick when you squeeze it out of the tube and you want to blend it thoroughly.   It is also pricey at $38 a tube considering you have to use a fair amount each time.  I am love a bargain and this is not a bargain.  That said, I am willing to pay for great quality.  I try to use this only for when I am going out.  I won't use this for every day use because of the price.  
 
Custom Color Blush - Pink
Custom Color Blush in Pink - This is SUCH a fun bright color.  I was looking for something like this.  I love just a hint a pink on the apples of my cheeks.   I use darker matte bronzer on the hollows of my cheeks and a hint of a brighter pink on the apples of my cheeks (I hope that makes sense!) This color is so bright, I need just the slightest hint of it, a whisper of pink on the apples of my cheeks.  It is fun, bright and great for summer! 
 
All Over Shimmer Liquid Luminizer
All Over Shimmer Liquid Luminizer in Bronze Shimmer - I love shimmer, I love shimmer so much!!  but I know I have probably reached an age where shimmer is no longer my friend :(   This product frustrates me because I want to love it but I know I shouldn't use it!  lol  It also confuses me because it comes with a brush like you would use with nail polish.  It feels like you are painting on nail polish when you use the included brush.  I will use this to highlight on brow bone and tops of cheeks when I am wearing very little make up and just running errands during the week to brighten my face a little.  I am not sure what else to do with it.   Although, I did read one reviewer puts some in a tiny spray bottle and mixes with water.  She gives a spritz to her face after make up for a light all over glow.  I may try that!  
 
Smudge Crayon Waterproof Eye Color
Smudge Crayon in Midnight Blue & Pink Violet - LOVE THESE!!!!!  They are a gel-based eye liner, primer and shadow.  I have not used them as a shadow...yet.  But as a liner, they are great.  They slide on effortlessly and do last.  I won't say they are totally smudge-proof, I do get a little smudge, but not bad. They do last.   I love tight-lining with both of these colors!  They are very fun with my hazel eye color.  
 
Jewel Eye Shadow
Jewel Eye Shadow in Blue Sapphire & Black Diamond - great eyeshadows.  I am so accustomed to stila being so fine, powdery and highly pigmented, I was surprised with these.  I don't find they are as pigmented as the other eye shadows that I have used and for these colors, I am glad!  They are very buildable.  I use the dark colors just at the crease of my eye lid and corners.  I like to blend and build with these.  The colors are GREAT and have a bit of a sparkle to them (not shimmer, but sparkle)   I like they are individual compacts so when I travel I don't have to bring a gigantic palette of colors.  
 
 
 
Not included in the make up case from Stila but worthy of mention
 
Stila - Stay All Day® Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner
Stila Liquid Eyeliner in Snow -  This is a white eyeliner.  I was hesitant at first.  I thought it was probably more a trend for teens.  But after trying it, I loved how it brightened my eyes.  It is so fun for summer.  The liner glides on like a marker but does have a fine brush tip.  The color flows easily.  I find it very easy to apply.  My only suggestions would be to lightly wipe off the end after each use.  (I have yet to figure out how not to get eye shadow on the brush ) and store it standing up with the brush end down.  This will keep the brush from clogging and drying.   I love it because it stays put and doesn't smudge AT ALL.  I put it on and it is right where I put it 10 hrs later.  Of course if you want a softer smudgy line, this is not the tool for you.  It is a definitive line.  I like to "tight-line" with one of the smudge sticks and then go across top of eye lid with this.  
 
Stay All Day Waterproof Brow Color
Stila All Day Waterproof Eye Brow pen - UGH! Another product that frustrates me.  I love the color (light).  I love the very fine brush tip, I love the way it looks so natural as you gently paint on hair by har.  I love the way it lasts forever!  I hate how it seems to get clogged so easily and for the price, using it a couple times and having it become useless is just not acceptable.  Stila did advise me to shake before use (which actually offended me, Obviously, I am going to shake it especially if nothing is coming out)  and to store standing up so tip doesn't dry out.  I am not sure why it clogs so easily and I wish Stila was able to offer a remedy, but they did not.  
***