The Day I Became A Soap Star Part 2

08/06/2013 08:12

 

I promised you a part 2, and here it is!  Let me tell you more about my day of filming with the cast of Tainted Dreams.  
 
There are a lot of people that work on filming a show.  And all these people have a lot of equipment.  My first goal when I walked into the filming location was to not disturb anyone’s equipment and not to interrupt any filming.  It is very intimidating to see so much equipment, wires, cables, monitors, boxes and cases every where! I really felt uneasy moving about.  I was also unsure as to how the cast and crew would respond to an “outsider” arriving on set.  Who could blame them?  It has to be a pain to have some around unintentionally getting in the way.  I just wanted to find a friendly face and then stay as far out of the way as possible.  I am happy to tell you, it didn’t take long before I felt comfortable.  Everyone, and I mean everyone, was so nice, friendly and welcoming.  
 
I had my camera with me and I wanted to get pictures to share with you but I didn’t want to interrupt anything.  (I tend to be a fan of the candid picture anyway)  Please forgive me if the pictures are a little blurry or out of focus at times,  I didn’t want to use a flash.  
 
Tainted Dreams was being “filmed on location” the day I was there.  This is fun because it feels very real.  It is also stressful because the equipment has to fit in small places. The crew doesn’t get to enjoy the benefit of lighting like in a studio, or sound control or camera equipment.  This made setting up scenes a little more of a challenge.  It was also really hot in one of the rooms where we were filming.  That meant a full cast and crew all crammed into a small room where we all stood for a long time…sweating.  Lol  It sounds kinda awful, doesn‘t it?  But it wasn’t.  
 
Everyone - every single person there - was lovely.  It was a long day.  It was hot at times.  It takes a lot of patience.  Yet, every one was lovely.  There wasn’t a diva in the bunch.  The legendary actors like Colleen Zenk, Larkin Malloy and Alicia Minshew - all delightful.  They all interacted with everyone - even me.  Not once was I made to feel like an intruder or outsider.  They all kept a sense of humor, knew their lines, cooperated with changes.  Everyone was lovely. 
 
The scenes could take a while to film because they were filming with three cameras.  They were using the available light.  This meant a lot of intricate adjustments of cameras and lights as well as adjustment to when and where actors would say things and stand.  It was a very interesting process to participate in.  It is all very choreographed.  So in addition to remembering lines, I had to remember my “marks”.  Step here, look here, then step here…I was terrified.  Everyone had to move and speak in an intricately choreographed manner.  
 
About halfway through this long day, I started smelling something DELICIOUS!  It was lunch!  They provided a wonderful yummy lunch.  I thought the big shots would probably go dine at some swanky Manhattan eatery....but no, they joined everyone and we all sat at a big long table!  It was so fun!  
 
For the most part, when I wasn’t sneaking pictures, I walked around repeating my two lines in my head over and over.  And then I would panic and think  “OMG! I can’t remember my first line”  Sheer panic.  By the way, I didn’t have a scene with just me and another actor…oh no, I would get to deliver my lines in front of EVERYONE.  I was going to have to deliver these lines in front of all these tv legends and stage veterans.  OMG.  What if I go blank?  What if I pass out?  OMG!  Anxiety would be an understatement.  
 
I was standing next to Larking Malloy for my scene  I know, right???  All those years I watched him on All My Children!!!  And now I was STANDING next to Travis Montgomery!!!  I was “acting” in a scene with him!!!!  It was surreal and a moment I will remember forever.  I can tell you he was fun and at times would even break into song.  (I think he was singing what sounded like perhaps an Irish ballad? ) I was passing the time mostly just repeating my two lines in my head over and over again and trying not to look like such a novice.  
 
The biggest blessing of the entire experience was that  I got to deliver my lines to Anthony Wilkinson.  I always feel so safe with him around.  I knew he would take good care of me.  I tried to just looked at him, forget that the room was full of experienced professional actors and crew who were all looking at me and just focused on him while I said my lines.  I can’t technically call what I was doing “acting”.  It was more like “saying words and trying not to pass out“.   I forget how many takes we did, but it was exhilarating.  I wouldn’t say it was fun, but there is definitely something to be said about doing things that scare you.  I really felt very alive in the moment.   
 
I was so grateful to have my friends there on that day;  the amazing, talented pros from my favorite show “My Big Gay Italian Wedding”.  I have to thank Meagan Robar, Debra Toscano, Brett Douglas, Brandon Goins, Paul Moon and Erik Ransom for helping me through the day and having the patience to put up with me.  I can not wait to see them in action on this show!  They are all so incredibly talented.  I can’t wait for America to know what I know about all of these great performers.  You are all going to fall in love!  
 
Oh!  And also on set with me the day I filmed, Jessie Godderz.  If you don’t know the name, you will.  He is a pro-wrestler and was also a contestant on Big Brother for 2 seasons.  But make no mistake, he is not just a pretty face and incredibly fit body, he is talented!  I am happy to report he is one of the nicest people I have met.  He went out of his way to be a gentleman and to be nice to everyone.  Mark my words, this is a guy whose career you will want to follow!  He is going places!  
 
I hope I have given you a little glimpse into “behind the scenes” at the making of a daytime drama.  Enjoy the photos!  Stay tuned for Part Three…..
 
 
To open photo gallery below, just click on any image to see full size.

Photo Gallery: Behind the Scenes at Tainted Dreams July 29, 2013

The image gallery is empty.